United States to face El Salvador, Nicaragua and Cuba in Concacaf Futsal Championship rescheduled for 2021


CHICAGO (April 14, 2021) – Following the postponement of the 2020 Concacaf futsal championship – initially scheduled for May 2020 – due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Concacaf has confirmed that the rescheduled tournament will take place from May 3 to 9 2021 in Guatemala City, Guatemala.

The The United States National Men’s Futsal Team will face El Salvador, Nicaragua and Cuba in Group D are playing. After the round robin, the top two teams from each group advance to the quarter-finals on May 7. The four semi-finalists will each have a place at the 2021 FIFA Futsal World Cup Lithuania in September (rescheduled from 2020).

The original February 2020 draw saw the field of 16 teams split into four groups of four, however after withdrawals from Guyana, Martinique and Guadeloupe in early April, the competition will now have 13 teams. To preserve at least three teams in each group, Concacaf moved the Dominican Republic from Group C to Group A.

The groups are as follows:

GROUP A: Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, Dominican Republic

GROUP B: Panama, Mexico, Suriname

GROUP C: Costa Rica, Canada, Haiti

GROUP D: United States, Cuba, El Salvador, Nicaragua

All matches take place at Domo Polideportivo, which has hosted a number of international futsal competitions, including the 2000 FIFA Futsal World Cup.

Fans in the United States can watch all matches on TUDN and the official Concacaf app

(subject to territorial restrictions), available for free at Apple and Google Play stores.


Monday, May 3: United States vs El Salvador (6 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. local)

Tuesday, May 4: United States vs Nicaragua (6 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. local)

Wednesday, May 5: United States vs Cuba (6 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. local)

Quarter-finals: Friday May 7: 1D against 2A, 1G against 2C, 1C against 2G, 1A against 2D

Semi-finals: Saturday May 8: 1B / 2C vs 1C / 2B; 1D / 2A vs. 1A / 2D

Third place and finals: Sunday May 9

Led by Dusan Jakica, who was announced as new head coach of Futsal MNT in September 2019, the team will attempt to qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the first time since 2008. The United States has participated in five of the first six FIFA Futsal World Cups (1989, 1992, 1996, 2004, 2008), finalist in 1992 and bronze medalist in 1989.

The first Concacaf Futsal Championship was held in 1996 and has been the World Cup qualifiers every four years since then. The United States won the title in 1996 and 2004, and took third place in 2000 and 2008.

While the United States has never faced El Salvador or Nicaragua in the Concacaf Futsal Championships, the United States and Cuba have met five times in the first three World Cup qualifiers, the United States defeating Cuba to win the 1996 and 2004 championships.

July 28, 2004: T USA 1-1 Cuba (Group B)

July 31, 2004: W USA 2-0 Cuba (final)

July 27, 2000: L USA 2-4 Cuba (Semi-final)

Sep 3, 1996: L USA 3-5 Cuba (Group 1)

September 7, 1996: W USA 7-3 Cuba (final)


Comments are closed.